Upcoming projects and events

Posts have been infrequent since the Newbury game last year.   Things have been busy all round.  However, this summer will see both the Naseby and Newbury games getting outings plus I should be starting some work on the battle at Islip (whence my family originates …) …

Please bring a car full of people to Naseby on the weekend of 22-23 June.

Naseby June 2013 poster reduced

The Pike & Shot Society will be there, and I will be demonstrating how the battle developed using my wargame version of the battle.

Naseby Project Family Day

I will be reviewing and updating the presentation in advance of the weekend, but it will still look a bit like …

Naseby cow-2011-08

 

NASEBY EVENT 22nd – 23rd June 2013

A few weeks later, I will be rerunning the 2nd Battle of Newbury at COW 2013 – WD’s Conference of Wargamers.

2nd Battle of NEWBURY at COW

This will be the game presented for the Pike & Shot Society at Colours 2012 (Newbury at Newbury), again in an updated version, but using the COW format to attempt to weld the disparate parts of the battle into a single narrative (rather than evaluate them separately as I did in Newbury)

newbury-table-04

 

This will give me plenty of ECW stuff to get my teeth into but I’m keen to get closer to the actions around Oxford in the early 1645 campaign.

I was talking to my late father’s cousin recently, and he recalls some civil engineering work going on in the village when they were children (before the war) in which relics of the Civil War were unearthed right by the site of the bridge in Islip.  Such direct contact spurs you on.

I need to rediscover some roots I think …

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

2 Comments on “Upcoming projects and events”


  1. Hi:

    I am want to start getting into ECW Wargaming on a tactical level; about 1 to 20 scale. I have bought a bunch of miniatures, rule sets and books and guides. Here is my problem: Most rule sets and guides state that a regiment of foot was divided into one center of pike and two wings of musketeers. However, some of the more specific guides state either that: (1) while a regiment of foot could be divided into one center of pike and two wings of musketeers, it was more often divided into 2 or 3 “divisions” each of which consisted of one center of pike and two wings of musketeers; or (2) a regiment was always divided into 3 or 4 “divisions” each of which consisted of one center of pike and two wings of musketeer. When I look at contemporary pictures and drawings, it appears that the “blocks” of pike or musketeers were pretty small, thus supporting the multiple “division” statements. Does anyone know the correct answer?

    Thanks.

    • yesthatphil Says:

      Hi Stefan … I think the correct answer is ‘yes’, and ‘all of them’. We know what the possibilities were, but there are few records of exactly what splits or formations were actually used in a given battle. Illustrations tend to be formulaic (e.g. Streeter) and based on eye witness accounts (rather than _by eye witnesses) …

      That is why I prefer a unit-to-unit system like Armati, and split the units into 3 based shot-pike-shot, whole unit, just like Streeter’s illustration. Not because it is right but because it is generically familiar.

      How that tripartite unit might break down in different circumstances within the battle is not represented within the level of resolution depicted.

      Not sure if it helps, but that’s my thinking

      Phil


Leave a Reply

