Update to the ECW adaptations page.

Prompted by a very interesting thread on the Warfloot Armati forum (Flanks – harder or less effective?) I put up a link to the flanks definition I use, and also (as a courtesy, I guess), read over what I had said.  The definition started …

Units have 4 sides and 2 corners: a front, a rear, and 2 side edges, and 2 front and 2 rear corners.

ECW Armati (Adaptations)

Now I’m sure I had a reason for saying 2 corners (I probably meant 2 types of corner – 2 front and 2 rear) and it is important that corners exist as they have a key function in defining how flank attacks work.

However, I have to own up that a definition that says units have 2 corners is the type of rules gibberish that I hate (as they clearly have 4!).  So I have corrected that line and it now properly states that units have 4 corners!

I don’t think the explanation of how you define flank attacks is any less clear for the change.  So apologies, all, for having fed you wargame rules speak unnecessarily.  I’ve set up a photo so it’s clear what the words actually mean …

(you might want to click on the picture to see it full size)

The arrows show the direction of facing, of course.  Note in the bottom line, the ‘classic’ rear corner clip: this is not a flank/rear attack because in this case the contact is only (and is only ever) with the attacker’s corner not his front edge.   It should be obvious from the definition that in order to meet the ‘front edge on rear corner’ requirement, the attacker needs to get to (or beyond) 90 degrees, and get something up to or beyond the target’s rear corner.

Note also that the adaptations allow for this ‘wing attack’ (a +1 modifier to the frontal FV) … so there is something in it for the attacker (just for the full Armati impact you need to get a lot further round the enemy)…

The formula is simple and the implications are shown in the picture.

That is how I do flank/rear attacks.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

